ISEDJ - Information Systems Education Journal


Information Systems Education Journal

ISEDJ Editors


Jeffry Babb West Texas A&M University

Co-Editor and Cases Co-Editor

Paul Witman California Lutheran University


Thomas Janicki University of North Carolina Wilmington

Associate Editor

Anthony Serapiglia St. Vincent College

Associate Editor

Jason Sharp Tarleton State University

Teaching Cases Co-Editor

Ira Goldstein Siena College

Emeritus Editor

Donald Colton Brigham Young University Hawaii

Note from the new editor of ISEDJ

Please join me in a heartfelt Thank You to Dr. Jeffry Babb, outgoing Senior Editor of the Journal. Dr. Babb took on the editorship in January of 2016 and has led the Journal well in his time as Editor, supporting the mission of publishing the best submissions to the EDSIGCON conference on Computing Education each year.

It is my pleasure to take the helm of the Information Systems Education Journal. I have been involved with the Journal in one way or another since 2010, including serving as Cases Co-Chair and Editor for the last few years, with Dr. Anthony Serapiglia and Dr. Ira Goldstein. A wonderful and much-appreciated community of scholars comes together each year to create the ISEDJ content, and I appreciate your good work.

The Journal’s pages are filled with the best works from the EDSIGCON conference and its Teaching Cases track. There are papers from each of the various tracks that make up the Conference, so everyone will find something of interest this year. EDSIGCON is a great conference at which to learn and share ideas about teaching the Information Systems discipline. If you have not attended, or not attended recently, I encourage you to consider writing a paper for the Conference, and to get involved in supporting its mission. Like any conference, it can always use more reviewers and other volunteers to produce a great event.

Your editorial board and I look forward to meeting both prior and new authors and reviewers at the 2021 Conference in Washington, D.C. this November. At the same time, you will have the opportunity to attend and present at the Conference on Information Systems Applied Research (CONISAR). Check out the Conferences’ web sites at and

Many thanks also to the Journal’s Associate Editors, Dr. Anthony Serapiglia and Dr. Jason Sharp. Their input into final editing decisions is vital to our editorial process, and I appreciate their contributions and enthusiasm. Finally, thank you to all the volunteer reviewers of the Editorial Board, both for the Cases special issue and for the remainder of this Volume.

We will work together to set goals for the Journal for the years ahead, including gathering input from the ISCAP Board of Directors and editorial board members. I anticipate that among those goals will be to increase the ranking and reputation of the Journal, and to strengthen our editorial processes.

I look forward with you to a great Conference, to collegial networking, and to putting together another high-quality collection of scholarship focused on Information Systems Education. Thank you in advance for your contributions!

Paul Witman
Incoming ISEDJ Editor
California Lutheran University
April 2021

2021 Editorial Board

Wendy Ceccucci Quinnipiac University
Ulku Clark University of North Carolina Wilmington
Amy Connolly James Madison University
Jeffrey Cummings University of North Carolina Wilmington
Christopher Davis University of South Florida St. Petersburg
Mark Frydenburg Bentley University
Nathan Garrett Woodbury University
Biswadip Ghosh Metropolitan State University of Denver
Ranida Harris Indiana University Southeast
Scott Hunsinger Appalachian State University
Melinda Korzaan Middle Tennessee State University
James Lawler Pace University
Li-Jen Lester Sam Houston State Universtiy
Michelle Louch Carlow College
Jim Marquardson Northern Michigan University
Mary McCarthy Central Conneticut State University
Richard McCarthy Quinnipiac University
Muhammed Miah Tennessee State University
RJ Podeschi Millikin University
James Pomykalski Susquehanna University
Renee Pratt University of North Georgia
Dana Schwieger Southeast Missouri State University
Cindi Smatt University of North Georgia
Karthikeyan Umapathy University of North Florida
Thomas Wedel California State University Northridge
Peter Y. Wu Robert Morris University
Jason Xiong Appalachian State University